Skip to content

Interrupting Universes

May 29, 2009

inter

I have been a bit slow on my blogging, but fortunately not slow on my movie making.  In fact, if I am not posting blogs that means I’ve been too busy, which is always a good thing.  I am currently the sole videographer and editor for two fairly big multi-episode projects.  Does that make any sense?  I tried to sum it all together to make it sound cool, without giving too much away as I feel that I should dedicate a separate post to my freelance work.  This post is about my latest creative endeavor entitled, “Interr-Uni-Upting-Verse.”

The basic premise is about two parallel universes aligning a bit too close and causing an interruption into each other’s realities. I wrote, shot, directed, and edited the video myself.  My good friend Mark did a wonderful job in acting, as he has done so much in the past.  In fact, Mark and I had earlier worked on some collaborations that involved time travel and parallel universe in the form of Bluesers 1 and Bluesers 2.  Thus, the idea for the movie was more of an off shoot of our previous work.  And the majority of the shots that make up the fabric of the multiple universes are also  from those two movies.

The millions of Mark and Zach universes...

The millions of Mark and Zach universes...

My main goal for the project was to execute jokes through the use of jump cuts. I had not had good reason to use jump cuts for quite some time, and since I really love them so much, I decided to make them the main focus of this project.

The unfortunate devil face that leads to the end of Mark and zach's friendship.

The unfortunate devil face that leads to the end of Mark and zach's friendship.

The setting is rather bare, but I think it works as it places the focus on the behaviors of the characters.  That being said, it was also just the easy thing to do, and it makes me want to do a project that is heavily set dressed.

The characters that Mark and I play are a tad exaggerated.  The one thing I wanted to stress was that the two different sets be different, and I believe we accomplished that.  Largely due to the fact that we filmed the different universes about a week apart from each other.

(Top) Best friends Mark & Zach (Bottom) Best enemies Mark & Zach

(Top) Best friends Mark & Zach (Bottom) Best enemies Mark & Zach

I am also hoping to continue to do more and more movies where I am not acting in them, as I would prefer to remain behind the camera.  So, if you are in Virginia and would like to act in short films, please feel free to contact me.  Hope you enjoyed my short movie, and thanks for watching.

Zach

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

